Posted by: lauraldawn | June 21, 2009

Run Run Run!

I haven’t been posting much this week.

I have a great excuse though. Work was/is insanely busy, and in my off time I was planning for and training for a 5k run.

At the starting line

At the starting line

I’m not a runner.

Let me qualify that. I don’t have the classic runner’s body. I don’t have the runner’s mind set. And, I don’t even really enjoy running. I mean, I kind of do, but you know those marathoners who talk about a runner’s high, getting a second wind and breaking through fatigue… that is not me.

A couple of years ago, before I was pregnant with my daughter, my friend and I made a New Year’s resolution to run a 5k. We knew our company raised a lot of money for the United Way, and that each year there was a 5k run in Toronto that people our company ran in – so that became our goal. I trained for it. I’d never run more than a block, really, so it took me 6 months to train. I was ready. And, when the race started I choked, my nerves got the best of me, and although I completed it and felt wonderful, I’ve always regretted that I walked a lot of it and struggled the whole time I was running.

I wasn’t sure this year if I would do it. Because I was really involved on the United Way Committee before my mat leave, and came back ready to be on it again, it was kind of expected I would do it again. So, I started working toward it again. I set that goal a few weeks ago. And I started personal training (not for the run), joined a new gym, etc. And then we came up with costume ideas.

Hawaiian costumes - why not?

Hawaiian costumes - why not?

Can you tell I have recently stayed at the Poly? When I was asked to come up with costume ideas of course I pushed for Hawaiian outfits, after all, we were one big ‘Ohana! (note that I’m runner #6)

Leading up to the race I trained, both running and weight training. But, I also did something equally important. I decided not to sell myself short! At work, one of my jobs is writing for our corporate intranet, and I interviewed someone who competes in a LOT of races. He gave me some incredible advice which was that if I wanted to succeed I had to make a goal for myself that pushed me. So, instead of my original goal which was to run to the halfway point before I let myself walk I made the goal that I was going to run my race. And then I refused to doubt it.

Just about to cross the finish line

Just about to cross the finish line

You know what? I did it.

I ran all 5k! I took 2 one-minute breaks (one to get water), and the rest I ran. I didn’t break any records. I probably could have done it faster. My official time was 35:27 (but I think I was a minute faster since we had to walk at the start). But, you know. It wasn’t about the speed I did it. It was about believing in myself, and knowing that if I believed it I could achieve it. Maybe that sounds dorky. But, it’s true.

The next day I got an e-mail from someone I ran with. She wanted to know if I would like to join her in her weekly running group. I’m not sure if I’m a runner, if I’ll join her, or if I want to pursue it. But, for now that doesn’t matter. What matters is that I did it, and I’m damn proud! Who knows … maybe I am a runner?

Oh, and tonight, I went for another run. Ouch!

My 'Ohana! Go team go.

My 'Ohana! Go team go.

Responses

  1. Hey, that’s fantastic!!!

    I did my first (and so far only 5K) last year down University Ave. and did it in 33 minutes. I was so excited. You should be very proud!

    I want to do the Toronto 5K run along the waterfront in September or October. Hoping my sore achilles will be all healed up by then.

    Maybe you are a runner… 🙂

  2. Great 5k!! Loved the outfits, so much fun.

  3. That’s awesome. Congratulations!

  4. Congrats girl, that is awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

