Posted by: lauraldawn | July 26, 2009

I Need Some Advice!

I know. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. What can I say? It’s summer. Home life is busy and work life is busy.

A big part of my job at work is writing. I am the webmaster for our intranet, and I’m also spearheading a social media project. It’s all exciting stuff, but iti means that a lot of my day is spent writing and thinking of posts. And, then I feel tapped out when it comes to my own blog. The added fact that it’s summer and I’m working and covering for people who are out the office means that the days go by so quickly.

And then there’s Twitter.

Anyway, life is good. I’m still working out a lot – at the gym at 5am most weekday mornings. At first I hated it, but now I kind of look forward to it. You know how most people hate Mondays? I don’t. In fact, Monday morning workouts are my favourite. To me it’s a fresh beginning. It’s the start of the new week, and health-wise I have to admit that there’s nothing better for me than opening a new page on a healthy week.

And as for Disney stuff. Well, here we go. I’d love some input on this because I’m really going back and forth on this one.

For work I have to go to conferences. I’m going to one locally (Toronto) and then the other one I should be going to is IzeaFest … in Orlando. It’s at Sea World. Which is pretty much down the street from Disney. Which means there is NO reason not to go to WDW. It’s not like I’m sneaking around on this. I have permission to take vacation days and go a little early. The trip is totally affordable since I’ll be flying down for work. I’d just pay for an additional hotel night at DISNEY.

But, I’m struggling with. I feel horribly guilty for leaving my kids. It’s not like I’m going to the spa or to wine tastings. It’s Disney. Even if it’s just a day.

Really, I’m struggling with being in a different country, a plane ride away. I’m worried about making friends/being alone at a conference. And the guilt. All of it.

At the end of the day, I chose the job I have because it didn’t involve travel. My last couple of jobs required extensive travel, and as great as that was when it was just Mike and I, with kids it’s just so much harder.

However, then there’s the whole idea of a hotel room. ON MY OWN!!!! A full night’s sleep. Quiet cups of coffee. Disney. I’m conflicted.

Thoughts?

Responses

  1. Don’t be ridiculous. Go and enjoy it. And don’t feel guilty about it for a hot second.

    You deserve it. We all do, and few of us are lucky enough to be presented with such an opportunity.

  2. Orlando you say?

  3. I’d feel guilty too, but if you’re already there, I don’t see why you can’t take a day for yourself.

  4. Oh wow! DO NOT feel guilty! Just enjoy! You so deserve it. SO funny that it’s at Disney!!!!

  5. Sorry, I havent been by lately… Did you go already? I’d TOTALLY go to Disney. It’s one day. You do so much for your kids, what is one day, or one night of fun without them? Seriously.

    Just have fun, tweet about it and post pictures to remember because it wont happen again for a long time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

